Wednesday, May 13, 2009

Steven Gerrard win writer awards

Steven Gerrard has been named the 2009 Footballer of the Year by the Football Writers' Association.

The Liverpool captain, who has scored 23 goals in 42 games this season, saw off the challenge of six Manchester United players to win the award.
Gerrard is the first Liverpool player to win the writers' award since John Barnes in 1990.He pipped PFA Player of the Year recipient Ryan Giggs, and English powerhouse striker Wayne Rooney to the title.

Gerrard will receive the honour at a Footballer Writers' dinner at the end of the month, on May 29.